Anniversary

15Sep09

imageToday’s the 15th anniversary of my dad’s head injury. I wanted to say something about it on the blog, but I don’t know what. So maybe just some random thoughts. * Every time Excel frustrates me, I think of Dad. He was the master of Pivot Tables. He could do things with Excel then that I still can’t do 15 years later now that they’re built-in features. * We were supposed to go to IHOP to celebrate for lunch, but he decided he couldn’t manage it. His prioritizer doesn’t work anymore. So if we’re in a room with lots of people talking (and background muzak), our brains figure out which bits to pay attention to and which bits to filter out as insignificant. You don’t realize how important that ability of your brain is until you lose it. * Being an adult caregiver has to be one of the hardest jobs around. My thanks to everyone who does that day-in and day-out, including my mom. * The brain performs an amazing job of compensating for any physical losses. We haven’t begun to understand its capabilities. And finally, always wear your helmet. Be aware of motorcycles. Loud pipes save lives.

3 Responses to “Anniversary”

  1. Regan,

    Amy and I will keep you and your family in our thoughts.

  2. 2 Sammy's mom

    Your parents are amazing. I love them for being so down to earth, so kind, for being strong through some pretty tough challenges, for never giving up, and for bringing this incredibly gifted person into the world. Thanks for a very insghtful post. It just strenghtens my respect, admiration and love for all three of you!

  3. 3 pjwilson

    I didn’t realize that your dad’s brain injury was from a motorcycle accident. That gives me fear for a few friends. You know I am blunt and not politically correct, but if your dad had to do it all over again do you think he would change things?

    You are absolutely right about the caregivers. My sister is oh so close to you and your mom and dad and has devoted her life to caring for her husband… just like your mom. They are saints.

    What is really odd is that I would caregive unconditionally for an animal, but for another human being — that is another whole level of giving that I am too cowardly for… god bless the caregivers, there must be a special place for them in nirvana.


Leave a Reply

