Card Counting

14May09

I’m doing some research into printing a few of my images from my trip to Best Friends as notecards. Did the online photo card thing a few Christmases back and was disappointed because I didn’t realize how big the logo was going to be on the back. So went in with clearer requirements this time. If the company puts their logo on the back (which they basically all do), I have to be able to add text to it to customize it. That cuts out Winkflash, Shutterfly, CafePress, and qoop right away. For VistaPrint, I couldn’t tell if they put their logo on the back or not, and since I couldn’t tell I knocked them out of the running because the back isn’t customizable.

Some places will let you order a single card; others not so much. I wanted to be able to refer to this research down the road, next time I need cards, and I figured y’all might benefit from this information, too. So behind a cut (or maybe not behind a cut, depending on how you’re getting to this), you’ll see… the chart.

  size of card min pricing shipping cost per
Snapfish 4.25″ x 5.5″ 12 $12.95 $2.99 $1.33
Kodak 3 1/2″ x 5″ 12 $15.48 $3.09 $1.55
moo 4.13″ x 5.8″ 10 $24.99 $5.00 $3.00*
Cardnotes 4.25″ x 5.5″ 10 $25.05 $5.05 $3.01
Zazzle 4″ x 5.6″ 10 $21.50 $8.99 $3.05
Kodak 3 1/2″ x 5″ 1 $1.49 $1.99 $3.48
Cardnotes 4.25″ x 5.5″ 1 $2.00 $2.07 $4.07
Zazzle 4″ x 5.6″ 1 $2.45 $1.99 $4.44

moo gets an asterisk because although they require you to order in packs of 10, each card can have its own unique image. That and the fact that I have a coupon for free shipping from their new, shiny US factory since I bought cards when they were in London, makes them the clear winner for me, at $2.50 a card for 10 unique cards. In a perfect world, I’d order from each of these places using identical parameters and compare the quality. But that’d be 25 cards and $60 later so we’ll leave that project for another day.

2 Responses to “Card Counting”

  1. Make your own. You have a printer. Buy the envelopes and be your own proponent.

  2. 2 Regan

    Yeah. Unfortunately, I don’t have a professional setup. These folks do.


Leave a Reply

